Intercom Pricing & Plans

#1 in Live Chat Software

by Intercom · intercom.com

Customer messaging and support platform combining ticketing, automation, and conversational service.

Visit website

Pricing at a glance

Intercom’s public pricing is built for teams that want a single customer service platform with a clear starting point and room to scale. The core model is simple on paper: choose a plan, buy seats, and then pay separately for usage-based items like Fin AI Agent and some messaging channels. In practice, the pricing page shows that the real total depends on how many full seats you need, whether you bill monthly or annually, how much Fin resolves for you, and which add-ons or services you turn on. That makes Intercom especially relevant for buyers who want to combine AI support, ticketing, and proactive messaging in one system, but it also means you should evaluate the full stack rather than only the advertised seat price.

Publicly listed pricing starts with Essential, Advanced, and Expert, plus a separate Fin AI Agent option for teams using another helpdesk. Intercom also publishes a few add-ons with fixed prices, including Pro, Copilot, and Proactive Support Plus, while premium services such as Premier Support and onboarding remain quote-only. The result is a pricing page that is partly self-serve and partly sales-assisted. For budget planning, the most important question is not just "What does the plan cost?" but "What will be charged per seat, per outcome, and per usage event?"

◇ Pricing model

Seat-based subscription plus usage-based fees

↻ Billing notes

Intercom offers yearly subscriptions across the platform, and monthly billing is also available on the Essential and Advanced plans. The product pages state that there are no seat minimums or maximums, but the FAQs also say all plans require the purchase of only a single seat to get started. A 14-day free trial is available with no credit card required, and the trial includes the chosen plan plus Fin AI Agent and add-ons. Intercom bills in USD only, and startup discounts are publicly offered through the Early Stage program, including 93% off in year one and 1 year of Fin free; the pricing FAQs also mention 50% off in year two and 25% in year three. Contracted customers may need Sales or an Account Manager for changes, and some services such as Premier Support and custom API limits require a contract.

Plans and pricing

4 tiers

Essential

Monthly or annual
$39/seat/mo monthly or $29/seat/mo annually
  • Fin AI Agent
  • Messenger
  • Shared Inbox
  • Ticketing system
  • Pre-built reports
  • Public Help Center

No lite seats included. Usage-based charges apply for Fin AI Agent and certain channels. All plans have no minimums or maximums on seats, but at least one seat is required to get started.

Advanced

Monthly or annual
$99/seat/mo monthly or $85/seat/mo annually
  • Fin AI Agent
  • Messenger
  • Shared Inbox
  • Ticketing system
  • Pre-built reports
  • Public Help Center

At least one seat is required to start. Usage-based charges apply for Fin AI Agent and certain channels. Lite seats are included, but full seats are required for full access and outbound content.

Expert

Monthly or annual
$139/seat/mo monthly or $132/seat/mo annually
  • Fin AI Agent
  • Messenger
  • Shared Inbox
  • Ticketing system
  • Pre-built reports
  • Public Help Center

At least one seat is required to start. Usage-based charges apply for Fin AI Agent and certain channels. Lite seats are included, but full seats are required for full access and outbound content.

Fin AI Agent for existing helpdesk

Usage-based
$0.99 per outcome
  • Quick setup with your current helpdesk
  • Answers email, live chat, phone, and more
  • Customizable tone and answer length
  • Ability to take actions on external systems
  • Seamless handoff to agents in your helpdesk

Minimum commitments apply. No seat costs. No extra charges for integration, setup, or platform use. Fin Voice pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires Sales.

Add-ons and extras

Pro

$99/mo

AI features for visibility and control across every conversation. The add-on includes analysis of 1,000 conversations per month, and Intercom’s help article says it enables a clear picture of 100% of customer conversations to improve quality and scale Fin with confidence.

Copilot

$29 per agent/mo billed annually or $35 per agent/mo billed monthly

A personal AI assistant in the inbox. Full-seat teammates get access, with 10 Copilot conversations and 10 AI Auto-translation conversations included per agent per month, and unlimited usage available as an add-on.

Proactive Support Plus

$99/mo

Advanced in-app and outbound support features including Product Tours, Surveys, In-app Posts, Mobile Push, Mobile Carousels, Posts, Checklists, and Series campaign builder. The add-on includes 500 messages sent per month, and additional messages are charged if usage exceeds that allowance.

Premier Onboarding

Not publicly disclosed

A one-time-fee service add-on that provides access to an onboarding specialist for custom onboarding help. Intercom says to contact Sales for interest in this service.

Premier Support

Not publicly disclosed

A service add-on that provides faster response times and access to the Premier Support team, available 24/7. Intercom says to contact Sales for this service.

Premier Support Rapid Response

Not publicly disclosed

A higher-touch service add-on with the fastest response times, escalation paths for critical questions, and access to the Premier Support team, available 24/7. Intercom says to contact Sales for this service.

Hidden and indirect costs

Worth budgeting for
⚠  Intercom’s public pricing makes clear that usage can add meaningful cost beyond the seat price. Fin AI Agent is billed per outcome, and messaging channels such as WhatsApp, SMS, email campaigns, and Phone are usage-based, with some charges varying by volume or region. The pricing pages also note that some premium services, custom API rate limits, and Fin Voice pricing require Sales, which means buyers should expect some costs to remain quote-only rather than self-serve.
⚠  Another cost factor is seat access. Every teammate requires a seat, and while Advanced and Expert include lite seats, lite seats have limited permissions and cannot create outbound content or use Copilot. That means teams that need broad operational access may need more full seats than they first expect, increasing total subscription cost.

What buyers actually pay

A solo founder or small support team wants the cheapest self-serve entry point with core helpdesk features.

Expected cost$39 per seat per month monthly, or $29 per seat per month annually, plus usage-based Fin and messaging charges if used.
number of full seatsmonthly vs annual billingFin AI Agent outcomesemail campaignsSMSWhatsAppPhone

A growing support team needs workflows, multiple inboxes, and multilingual help center capabilities.

Expected cost$99 per seat per month monthly, or $85 per seat per month annually, plus any usage-based charges and optional add-ons.
number of full seatsannual vs monthly billingFin AI Agent outcomesProactive Support PlusCopilotWhatsAppSMS

An enterprise team needs SSO, HIPAA support, SLAs, multibrand support, and higher operational control.

Expected cost$139 per seat per month monthly, or $132 per seat per month annually, plus any usage-based fees and any contract-only services.
number of full seatsannual vs monthly billingFin AI Agent outcomescontract-only servicesusage-based messaging channels

A company already using Zendesk, Salesforce, Freshdesk, or another helpdesk wants Fin AI Agent without moving platforms.

Expected cost$0.99 per outcome, with minimum commitments applying and no seat costs.
Fin outcomesminimum commitmentphone usage if Fin Voice is needed

Pricing FAQ

No permanent free plan is publicly listed in the supplied pricing documents. Intercom does offer a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. The trial includes the selected plan, Fin AI Agent, and add-ons, and you only pay after choosing a plan and adding payment details.

Fin AI Agent is priced per outcome, at $0.99 per outcome for either Intercom or existing-helpdesk use cases. Intercom says you are only charged when Fin delivers a successful result, and you are charged once per conversation even if multiple questions are answered. For Fin Voice and some other details, pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires Sales.

The pricing FAQ says all plans require the purchase of only a single seat to get started. The plans article also says there are no minimums or maximums on seats, so buyers can scale seat count up as needed. In practice, the public guidance indicates a one-seat starting point rather than a larger enforced minimum.

Intercom’s pricing pages advertise an Early Stage startup program. The help pages say eligible startups can get 93% off in year one, 50% off in year two, and 25% off in year three, plus 300 free Fin outcomes per month in year one. The pricing page also promotes a new-customer offer of 35% off the Essential plan.

Premier Onboarding, Premier Support, Premier Support Rapid Response, and Fin Voice pricing are not publicly disclosed in the supplied documents. Intercom instructs buyers to contact Sales for these items. Custom API rate limits also require a contract and Sales involvement.

Next: Alternatives