Mailchimp Pricing & Plans

#1 in Email Marketing

by Mailchimp · mailchimp.com

Email marketing platform for campaigns, templates, audience management, testing, and reporting.

Visit website

Pricing at a glance

◇ Pricing model

Contact-based monthly pricing with tiered plans; some larger lists and add-ons are quote-only or custom-priced.

↻ Billing notes

Mailchimp markets all four marketing plans as monthly plans, and the official pages show a 14-day free trial for paid plans with no credit card required. The pricing pages also advertise a 15% discount for qualifying customers with 10,000+ contacts on their first 12 months, and the help article says businesses can change or pause a plan at any time from the billing page. For larger contact lists, Mailchimp directs buyers to contact sales for custom pricing, annual plans, demos, and more. Overages can be charged when contact or send limits are exceeded.

Plans and pricing

4 tiers

Free

Monthly
$0/month
  • Up to 250 contacts
  • 500 sends per month
  • 250 sends per day
  • 1 audience
  • 1 seat with Owner permissions
  • A limited selection of basic, featured, and themed email templates

The plan is limited to 250 contacts. If you exceed the contact limit, live emails and test emails are held until you upgrade or reduce your contact total. Sending pauses if the contact or email send limit is exceeded.

Essentials

Monthly
$13/month
  • 3 audiences
  • 3 seats
  • Owner and Admin permissions
  • Single email automations
  • Automation flows with up to 4 steps
  • All Mailchimp email templates

The official help article says the starting price includes up to 500 contacts and that the plan can store up to 50,000 contacts. The monthly send limit is 10 times your contact limit. The pricing page also shows a $13/month tier with a 14-day free trial and overages if contact or send limits are exceeded.

Standard

Monthly
$20/month
  • 5 audiences
  • 5 seats
  • Owner, Admin, Author, or Viewer permissions
  • Expanded automation flow capabilities and flow templates
  • Advanced segmentation and pre-built segments
  • Custom-coded email templates

The official help article says the base price includes 500 contacts, the plan can store up to 100,000 contacts, and the monthly send limit is 12 times your contact limit. The pricing page shows a $20/month tier for the displayed contact range, a 14-day free trial, and overages if contact or send limits are exceeded.

Premium

Monthly
$350/month
  • Unlimited audiences
  • Unlimited seats
  • Owner, Admin, Author, Manager, or Viewer permissions
  • Extended personalized onboarding
  • SMS Marketing add-on with MMS for US and Canadian customers
  • Phone support

The official help article says the base price includes 10,000 contacts, the plan can store up to 200,000 contacts, and the monthly send limit is 15 times your contact limit. For larger contact lists, Mailchimp says the plan is customized, and the pricing page notes custom plans and demos for larger contact lists. Overages apply if contact or send limits are exceeded.

Add-ons and extras

SMS Marketing

Not publicly disclosed

The add-on is included as an option on Essentials, Standard, and Premium in the plan comparison, but the page does not publish a standalone price for SMS Marketing. The comparison also notes MMS in select locations and that some SMS capabilities may require additional cost, including short codes and certain multi-audience or multi-country features.

Mailchimp Transactional

Prices vary

Mailchimp says Transactional Email is a paid add-on that can be added to Standard and Premium monthly marketing plans. The help article does not publish a fixed price and explicitly says prices vary.

Hidden and indirect costs

Worth budgeting for
⚠  Mailchimp states that overages apply if contact or email send limits are exceeded. That means a plan can cost more than its listed starting price if a business grows beyond the included contact tier or sends more emails than the plan allows. The help article also explains that additional charges may appear during a billing cycle if a contact total rises above the contact limit, even when service is not interrupted.
⚠  Some features carry add-on or custom-cost implications even when a plan includes the base capability. The comparison page notes that SMS multi-audience, multi-country SMS, and short codes may require additional cost, and that Premium migration services route to sales rather than a published checkout price. Larger contact lists can also trigger custom pricing or a sales conversation.

What buyers actually pay

A very small business wants to start email marketing with no monthly subscription cost and a hard cap on list size.

Expected cost$0/month
Up to 250 contactsFree plan limitsPotential pauses if the contact limit is exceeded

A growing team wants entry-level paid email tools, A/B testing, and support without buying a custom plan.

Expected cost$13/month starting price
Contact tierEssentials plan14-day free trialOverages if contact or send limits are exceeded

A marketing team needs advanced automation, segmentation, and custom reports for a mid-sized list.

Expected cost$20/month starting price
Contact tierStandard plan14-day free trialOverages if contact or send limits are exceeded

A larger organization needs priority support and unlimited seats, and is willing to talk to sales for scaling.

Expected cost$350/month starting price, then custom pricing for larger contact lists
Premium planContact tierCustom plans for larger contact listsPriority support

Pricing FAQ

Yes. Mailchimp’s Free marketing plan is publicly listed at $0/month. The official help article says it includes up to 250 contacts, 500 sends per month, and a daily send limit of 250. If you exceed the contact limit, sending is held until you upgrade or reduce your contact total.

Yes. The official pricing page says paid plans come with a risk-free 14-day trial, and it notes that no credit card is required for the trial on Standard. The page also says you can send up to 100 emails during the free trial before payment details are needed. Mailchimp also repeats that trial terms apply and overages can still apply if limits are exceeded.

Mailchimp uses contact-based pricing, so your plan cost changes with the number of contacts in your account. The help article says the plan type plus the pricing tier determines the monthly bill. The public pricing pages show starting points of $13/month for Essentials, $20/month for Standard, and $350/month for Premium, but larger lists and some features can move buyers into custom or quote-based pricing.

Yes. The Free plan is capped at 250 contacts and 500 sends per month, with a 250-per-day send limit. The help article says Essentials has a monthly send limit of 10 times the contact limit, Standard is 12 times the contact limit, and Premium is 15 times the contact limit. Mailchimp also says higher contact totals may require custom plans, especially on Premium.

No. The official help article says Mailchimp Transactional is a paid add-on, but it does not publish a fixed price and instead says prices vary. The comparison page also shows that some SMS-related capabilities may require additional cost or are not included on lower tiers. When a price is not publicly disclosed, the safest buyer-facing summary is to say so rather than guess.

Next: Alternatives