Open Source
Not publicly disclosed- Community support
- Email integration supported
- Download
No public usage limits are disclosed.
by osTicket · osticket.com ↗
Open-source helpdesk system for managing customer support tickets and workflows.
osTicket’s pricing story is straightforward, but it is split across two very different buying motions. If you want software with no upfront license fee, the official site presents the Open Source edition as free to download. If you want a managed environment, the cloud-hosted edition is publicly listed at a starting price of $12 per agent per month. There is also a Virtual Appliance option, but the company does not post a public price for that tier and instead asks buyers to contact sales.
For teams evaluating total cost, the main question is not just the software price but where the work happens. Self-hosted osTicket is free as a product, yet the download page makes clear that you still need your own server stack, PHP, and MySQL environment. The cloud-hosted plan bundles more operational work into the subscription, including managed upgrades, backups, and infrastructure, and it is offered with a 30-day free trial. Public pages do not disclose annual discounts, seat minimums, or overage pricing, so those terms should be treated as not publicly disclosed until a sales quote or checkout flow says otherwise.
This page focuses only on what osTicket makes public today: the free open-source edition, the paid cloud-hosted edition, and the quote-only appliance tier. Where the company does not publish a number, we say so directly rather than guessing. That keeps the pricing picture useful for buyers comparing options against hosted help desks and open-source alternatives.
Freemium open source plus paid cloud-hosted subscription, with a quote-only enterprise/appliance option.
Public billing details are limited. The cloud-hosted edition is shown as starting at $12 per agent per month and includes a 30-day free trial. The official materials do not disclose annual billing discounts, seat minimums, renewal mechanics, or overage charges, and the virtual appliance is explicitly quote-based. If you need firm contract terms, the public pages direct you to contact sales.
No public usage limits are disclosed.
No public seat minimum is disclosed.
Quote-only tier.
Plugins are available from the download area, but no public standalone price is listed.
Language packs are downloadable, but no public add-on price is listed.
A startup wants a no-cost helpdesk and can self-host.
Expected costFree software cost, plus self-hosting and admin expenses that are not publicly disclosed.A small support team wants a managed cloud deployment with a published entry price.
Expected costStarting at $12 per agent per month.An enterprise wants a customized appliance and prefers a sales quote.
Expected costContact us for pricing.The cheapest publicly described option is the Open Source edition, which is listed as Free. The home page also says that osTicket is completely free. If you self-host, however, you still need your own infrastructure and administration, so the software fee may be zero while total operating cost is not.
The cloud-hosted edition is publicly shown as starting at $12 per agent per month. The editions page also advertises a 30-day free trial. The supplied pages do not publish a higher-tier price ladder, so the public entry point is the only disclosed amount.
Yes. The Virtual Appliance tier says Contact us for pricing. That means the price is not publicly posted on the supplied pricing pages, and a buyer needs to speak with sales for a quote.