Tableau Pricing & Plans

#2 in Business Intelligence

by Salesforce · tableau.com

Analytics and visualization platform for building interactive dashboards and sharing insights.

Visit website

Pricing at a glance

Tableau’s pricing is a mix of public, per-user subscription tiers and quote-based premium offerings. If you are comparing Tableau for business intelligence use, the clearest public starting points are Tableau Standard, Tableau Enterprise, and Tableau Next, each shown on an annual-contract basis billed annually. Standard is positioned for teams that want browser-based authoring, Tableau Desktop and Prep Builder, and Tableau Pulse. Enterprise adds Advanced Management and Data Management on top of Standard. Tableau Next is the most clearly agentic option in the public pricing page, with Agentforce Tableau, Tableau Semantics, and native Slack integration included.

For teams that need a more complete hosted deployment, Tableau also lists Tableau Cloud+ and the Tableau+ Bundle, but those tiers do not publish prices publicly. Instead, both are routed through sales. The comparison table and FAQ make it clear that deployment details matter: every deployment requires at least one Creator license, and additional Creator, Explorer, Viewer, and in some bundle contexts Consumer licenses may be needed. That means the actual spend can be higher than the headline starting price, especially once you account for the number of users and the mix of roles required for your rollout.

Tableau does provide a free way to begin, including Tableau Desktop Free Edition and a start-for-free entry point on the site. For buyers budgeting a rollout, the most important question is whether you need the public self-serve tiers or a quote-only enterprise package. If your needs center on governance, multi-site deployments, premium support, or access to Tableau Next within a broader bundle, the sales-led options are likely to be the right path.

◇ Pricing model

Annual-contract, per-user subscription pricing for public tiers; quote-only pricing for Tableau Cloud+ and the Tableau+ Bundle.

↻ Billing notes

Public tiers are shown on an annual-contract, billed-annually basis. Tableau Standard, Enterprise, and Tableau Next list per-user monthly starting prices with annual billing. Every deployment requires at least one Creator license, and additional Creator, Explorer, Viewer, and in some bundle contexts Consumer licenses are available. Cloud+ and Tableau+ are quote-only and require contacting sales. Tableau also offers a free start path through Tableau Desktop Free Edition and a free trial entry point on its site.

Plans and pricing

5 tiers

Tableau Standard

Billed annually
USD 15/user/month
  • Author, govern, and collaborate with browser-based web authoring
  • Tableau Desktop and Prep Builder
  • Tableau Pulse

Every deployment requires at least one Creator license. Additional user license types are available, and the edition supports up to 3 sites in the comparison table.

Tableau Enterprise

Billed annually
USD 35/user/month
  • Includes everything in Tableau Standard
  • Advanced Management
  • Data Management

Every deployment requires at least one Creator license. Additional user license types are available, and the edition supports up to 10 sites in the comparison table.

Tableau Cloud+

Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed
  • Includes everything in Tableau Enterprise
  • Tableau Agent in Tableau Cloud and Pulse
  • Premier Success
  • 50 sites
  • Release Preview access

Contact Sales for pricing details. The comparison table shows support for up to 50 sites.

Tableau+ Bundle

Not publicly disclosed
Not publicly disclosed
  • Includes everything in Tableau Cloud+
  • Tableau Next

Contact Sales for pricing details. The comparison table indicates the bundle is available for Tableau Cloud deployments and includes Tableau Next capabilities.

Tableau Next

Billed annually
USD 40/user/month
  • Agentforce Tableau, including Concierge and more
  • Tableau Semantics
  • Native Slack integration

This solution requires an annual contract and at least one Creator license. Consumer licenses are available for the Tableau+ bundle context.

Add-ons and extras

Data Cloud Credits in Tableau+ bundle

Included: 250K Data Cloud Credits

The FAQ states that the Tableau+ bundle includes 250K Data Cloud Credits, and that select AI features in Tableau+ edition of Tableau Cloud can consume Data Cloud Credits.

Hidden and indirect costs

Worth budgeting for
⚠  Tableau’s public pricing page makes clear that some plans require an annual contract billed annually and that every deployment requires at least one Creator license. That means the entry price shown for a tier is not necessarily the whole deployment cost, because buyers may need multiple user roles to cover viewers, explorers, and creators. The pricing page also says Cloud+ and Tableau+ are sold through sales, so the final price can vary by quote and is not fully public.

What buyers actually pay

A small analytics team wants the lowest public entry point for hosted Tableau Cloud functionality.

Expected costAt least USD 15/user/month billed annually for Tableau Standard, plus enough licensed users to satisfy the one-Creator minimum if the deployment needs multiple roles.
Tier selectionNumber of Creator, Explorer, and Viewer licensesAnnual contract requirement

An enterprise team needs governance and data management features beyond the Standard edition.

Expected costAt least USD 35/user/month billed annually for Tableau Enterprise, with deployment costs increasing as additional user roles are added.
Enterprise tier selectionData Management and Advanced Management needsUser-role mix and minimum Creator requirement

A buyer wants agentic analytics across Tableau Cloud and Tableau Next with premium support and release preview access.

Expected costNot publicly disclosed; quote-based via sales for Tableau Cloud+ or the Tableau+ Bundle.
Quote-based negotiationSite countPremium support and release preview accessInclusion of Tableau Next

Pricing FAQ

No. Tableau publishes public starting prices for Standard, Enterprise, and Tableau Next, but Cloud+ and the Tableau+ Bundle are handled through sales and do not show public amounts. The pricing pages also indicate that several plans are annual-contract, billed-annually subscriptions. Buyers should expect to contact sales for the quote-only tiers and for any deployment-specific configuration questions.

Tableau Standard includes browser-based web authoring, Tableau Desktop and Prep Builder, and Tableau Pulse. Tableau Enterprise includes everything in Standard, plus Advanced Management and Data Management. The comparison table also shows different site limits, with Standard supporting up to 3 sites and Enterprise supporting up to 10 sites. These limits help explain why the final deployment cost can differ from the headline per-user price.

Yes. Tableau’s pricing page highlights a free start path with Tableau Desktop Free Edition and a free trial entry point on the site. The page says users can download Tableau Desktop for free and also invites visitors to start for free. Public materials in the provided documents do not give a specific trial length on Tableau’s own pricing pages, so that detail is not publicly disclosed here.

Next: Alternatives